top of page

Adventure Time: Season 3 (2011) Cre: Pendleton Ward


After finishing season 2, I very swiftly returned for the third season of Pendleton Ward's animated bundle of wholesome adventures, with a big smile on my face at the very notion of watching more of 'Jake The Dog' and 'Finn The Human'.


This season had much more of an interlinking story, although it was still a fairly loose one, that allowed for plenty of freedom in the episodic storylines. It also felt like there was more character development than there had been previously, which I also enjoyed.

I also enjoyed the musical inclusions - I think they were better than in the prior seasons, for the most part. There were also a fair few more of them, which were useful for adding a little character development and exposition without slowing the episodes down too much.


Furthermore, I appreciate the introductions of more new characters to the show, which helped keep it fresh and fun. Not only this, but I liked that some of supporting cast had more to do this time around, which to me could only be a good thing.

Jeremy Shada and John DiMaggio continued to be a lovable and entertaining pair of protagonists. I also think the supporting cast were truly excellent this series too - especially Tom Kenny, Olivia Olson, Niki Yang and Hynden Walch.


Overall, this was the best season yet, in my view. The show really felt like it was building on its foundations and becoming a more well-rounded series. This is the last of the seasons that I remember watching a lot of, but I'm so glad I rewatched it, and can't wait to continue on.


Comments


bottom of page