top of page

Supernatural: Season 5 (2009) Cre: Eric Kripke


Season 5 of the beloved Eric Kripke created television series took things to truly biblical levels. Obviously, for those familial with the show, these levels took root in the previous season, but this season saw them truly explored.


One thing that I think this season really nailed was the comedy. If there was ever a weakness of Supernatural, it would be that the jokes can be a bit too childish, at least for my personal taste, but I think this collection of episodes really felt like they had nailed the comedic identity of the show.

The season arc was thoroughly interesting, and managed to raise the stakes of the series, which is pretty impressive considering what had already been done previously. The one-off arcs or smaller arcs were also very good for the most part, and made this season incredibly watchable and bingeable.


A big reason why all of this worked so well was because of the excellent performances of some of the new cast members. Kurt Fuller, Mark Pellegrino and Mark Sheppard were brilliant additions to the show, especially Sheppard, who I found incredibly entertaining.

The familiar faces of Jensen Ackles, Jared Padalecki, Misha Collins and Jim Beaver were all as consistent and enjoyable as ever - Collins in particular proves to be more varied and well-developed with every episode. I even enjoyed what was to me a surprising and bizarre appearance from Paris Hilton of all people.


Overall, this was the best season yet, which I appreciate I've seemingly said in every review for the prior season of the show. I would argue that just proves how good it is as a series. It gets better as it goes, which not many series can say, especially after reaching five seasons.


Comments


bottom of page