top of page

Supernatural: Season 4 (2008) Cre: Eric Kripke


If I'm honest, the fourth season of a series is usually where the quality and creativity of episodes seems to start to dwindle. I was concerned that it would be the case for this as well, in spite of the knowledge of a further eleven seasons.


However, I was very pleased to discover that, if anything, this fourth season was just as good as the prior ones. If anything, I enjoyed that the story was taking a new direction, with the intriguing introduction of the much loved Misha Collins to the series - someone I had been pretty keen to see arrive.

The more standalone episodes proved to be among my favourites, especially Episode 12: "Criss Angel Is a Douche Bag" - which was both inventive and surprisingly heartfelt at times. But I don't think there were any episodes I didn't enjoy.


The final episode was excellent, and brought a thrilling conclusion to the fourth season, that immediately got me excited for the fifth season.

Jensen Ackles and Jared Padalecki are as consistent as ever, and the evermore present face of Misha Collins proves to be a huge positive for the series. I also continue to thoroughly enjoy the performances of Jim Beaver.


Overall, this was probably my favourite season so far - it's close. This season continued to effectively build upon the foundations set by the prior seasons of the show, and set up the following seasons for some immense success.


Comments


bottom of page