top of page

Supernatural: Season 1 (2005) Cre: Eric Kripke


After years of wanting to, I finally sat down and started this show properly. I had seen up to the start of season 3 the first time round, but remembered very little. This time, I felt like I could properly enjoy it.


Sure, some of the 2005 TV-budget CGI is a little dated, but in the modern eye, it adds character to the show. This first season had a run of 22 episodes, each around the 40 minute mark. The vast majority were episodic in nature - there was a developing arc throughout, although it mainly circled around the first and last couple of episodes.

This debut season has some very memorable episodes, and some very forgettable ones, but all-in-all they're all at least relatively good. This first season introduces viewers to some classic monsters and supernatural entities from folklore and myth, which makes for some compelling stories.


The main duo of Jensen Ackles and Jared Padalecki have a strong chemistry on and off-screen, which is key to the show's success, not only in this debut season, but throughout its entire run. This season also benefits from the commanding presence of Jeffrey Dean Morgan, who makes for an excellent supporting character.

The season sets up its sophmore effort well, whilst also delivering a tantalising cliffhanger, if admittedly a bit of a bizarre one. I wasn't too keen on said cliffhanger, but I can appreciate what it was trying to do.


Overall, this was far more enjoyable than my first time watching this. I think I appreciated the good parts far more and didn't mind the cheesiness anywhere near as much. It got me excited to continue on with the show and move on to season 2.


Comments


bottom of page