top of page

What We Do In The Shadows: Season 3 (2021) Dir: Jermaine Clement


When I began watching this series on Disney Plus, I raced through it at quite a pace, dispatching of the first two seasons with some vigour. However, for whatever reason, season 3 saw my progress grind to a near halt.


It felt to me as though the series lost a little of the spark that made the film and previous two seasons of the show so enjoyable. I needed to take a break from watching the show after this season, I was just a little fatigued by it.

The familiar ensemble cast return, with the key protagonists, played by Natasia Demetriou, Matt Berry, Kayvan Novak, Harvey Guillen and Mark Proksch, remaining the same. Their performances aren't particularly worse than the prior seasons, but equally, I just didn't enjoy their roles as much.


One thing the series does, which is simultaneously a positive and a negative, is end on a big cliffhanger for the characters and their arcs. It's positive, because it was memorable and certainly grabbed my attention.

However, it also set the fourth season up in a really strange way, it almost felt as though the writers backed themselves into a corner creatively. It will be interesting to see which direction the series goes in the next season, that is for certain.


Overall, it is safe to say that, while this still has some funny moments, it is the weakest of the three seasons that I've seen. My hope is that the fourth season finds itself a little more, because if not, I will lose any remaining interest and investment in the show.


Comments


bottom of page