top of page

Some Like It Hot (1959) Dir: Billy Wilder

Instagram post:

Billy Wilder's 1959 comedy is a classic, and for good reason. It's terrifically funny, wonderfully entertaining and undeniably genius. There were also some pretty inventive camera shots that I really appreciated.


I was laughing in nearly every scene, but what struck me was that the more serious moments hit very well too, which made me appreciate the film all the more.

Marilyn Monroe gave one of her most iconic and memorable performances in this co-starring role. She showed her many talents, not least of all being her comedic timing and quick wit.


Tony Curtis and Jack Lemmon had me in fits with their comedy. Their timing and connection made every punchline hit just right and their willingness to be absurd and ridiculous made everything even more amusing.

I will also give a quick mention to some other entertaining names; George Raft, Pat O'brien, Joe E. Brown and Joan Shawlee.


Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed myself watching this classic comedy. It had so many hilarious moments, and had me laughing in a way not many films do. This film more than deserves its status as an all-time classic and I can't believe it took me this long to watch it.


Comments

Couldn’t Load Comments
It looks like there was a technical problem. Try reconnecting or refreshing the page.
bottom of page