top of page

Solar Opposites: Season 4 (2023) Cre: Mike McMahan


The fourth season of this underrated sci-fi comedy, co-created by Mike McMahan, brought with it some jarring but very necessary changes, due to the horrendous allegations lobbied at the show's other co-creator, and key voice actor, Justin Roiland. As a result of these allegations, the decision was made, rightfully, to remove Roiland from his roles.


I hate to spend time addressing Roiland, but his absence was a very noticeable change to the series that was important to mention and explain. The unfortunate truth is, the man was very popular, prior to his downfall. What this means is that the changes definitely took some getting used to.

In many ways, this reset felt a little like when I started watching the show - I was a little unsure and reserved, but ultimately, I'd say I enjoyed it. Once I was used to everything, I liked the new season just as much as the others.


The main arc was a little more episodic in nature than I remember the last two seasons being. That said, I didn't really mind. It was still funny and kept me invested, so it wasn't an issue. The season only has 11 episodes, but each one is as funny as the last.

As has been the case in the other seasons, the main subplot proved to have some of the most entertaining moments and storylines in the show. It nails the drama, making it such an integral part of why I enjoy the series.


Dan Stevens had the unenviable task of replacing Roiland; a job that was bound to have growing pains, considering how popular his predecessor's voice work has been in a number of different shows. It definitely took a couple of episodes to get used to the new voice, but once I did, I wasn't bothered by it at all. Stevens doesn't have the timing or vocal range of his predecessor, but he was still very entertaining.

The other, more familiar voicr actors; Sean Giambrone, Mary Mack and Thomas Middleditch, were all as funny and generally enjoyable as always. They have been such a consistent part of the show.


Overall, I wouldn't say this is my favourite of the four seasons - I do prefer the more consistent storytelling of season 2 and 3's main arc in particular. However, I still enjoyed this season a lot. This series is so underrated and I wish more people watched it.


Comments


bottom of page