top of page

Solar Opposites: Season 3 (2022) Cre: Justin Roiland & Mike McMahan


Having now watched the third season of this delightful animated comedy from the minds of Justin Roiland and Mike McMahan, I can safely say this has become one of my favourite adult animated series.


This, from the person who was immensely bored and apathetic towards the first few episodes. The third season may not be quite as entertaining as season 2, but it is still very enjoyable from an audience standpoint.

Once again, my personal favourite moments came from the long-running subplot, which has been consistently intriguing and entertaining since it began developing in season 1. I cannot wait to see where it goes in the fourth season, which was green-lit back in June 2021.


The main arc also had plenty of high points, though with a far more episodic feel to the stories. I quite like the difference between the main story and the aforementioned subplot, not only in the fashion of its telling, but of the feel of each one. One more serious than the other, but still maintaining a lot of the show's staple comedy.

The characters have definitely settled into their own at this point, with less of the slightly clunky moments that apprehended the opening season and more of the witty and slightly improvisational comedy that has made the series so entertaining.


Overall, I am so pleased I stuck with this show - it has given far more than I expected, especially with its two distinctly different narratives, which give the series some much appreciated layers and depth in storytelling opportunities. I am very excited to see what season 4 brings to the table.


Comentarios


bottom of page