top of page

Solar Opposites: Season 1 (2020) Cre: Justin Roiland & Mike McMahan


To say this series gave me mixed emotions is an understatement. Initially, I felt like I was wasting my time. The show like a bootleg Rick & Morty, although it is worth saying that it is made by the same people in fairness.


Furthermore, the main character felt lazily created, and, to me at least, was clearly based on Rick from the forementioned Rick & Morty. The first few episodes just did not land well with me, I very nearly stopped watching it.

However, I figured I should at least finish the first season, if only to write a review on it. By the end of the season, my opinion had altered entirely, which came as a huge surprise to me.


The show, seemingly out of nowhere, got really good. The show's main subplot was definitely one of its key contributors, as it added a really unique and entertaining layer to the series.

There was also a scene where I very nearly cried and I think that says a lot about my investment by that point. By season's end, I couldn't wait to watch the second season, which shows the great turn around it had in terms of my view on it.


Overall, this season started out weak, but ended up being very enjoyable. Once you get passed the first couple of episodes, you'll find a very funny and inventive TV series. Yes, there is definitely a heavy Rick & Morty feel to it at times, but it's worth sticking with.


Comments


bottom of page