top of page

Arachnophobia (1990) Dir: Frank Marshall

Instagram post:

If I'm being totally, transparent, before watching this, I thought I was watching a different film, albeit with a similar enough premise.


That said, I was not disappointed by what I ended up seeing instead. I wanted a scary spider film, and that's exactly what I got. It isn't spectacular or anything, but it does the job.

It's 90s cheese a symptom of the decade, and not at all something I disliked. The use of physical effects too is, as anyone who follows me will know, always a plus in my eyes. The story isn't world beating by any means but it is an easy watch at least.


The film stars Jeff Daniels, who may not be the biggest name, but, in any case, he provides a reasonable enough performance, though nothing that special.

Julian Sands, who I have a growing appreciation for as far as his portfolio goes, also features, and gives a middling performance. It certainly doesn't compare to some of his other roles however, that much is undeniable.


The iconic John Goodman has a surprisingly substantial role, and plays easily my favourite character in the film. He provides some much needed light relief and comedic timing.

Finally, I'll give a mention to Harley Jane Kozak, who is pretty solid throughout, at least for the most part. She is perhaps the weakest actor out of those mentioned though.


Overall, director Frank Marshall helms a pretty standard early 90s horror with some cheese and some quality mixed in to make a somewhat mediocre but undeniably enjoyable movie, which any classic horror fan could have a food time watching.


Comments


bottom of page