top of page

You: Season 1 (2018) Dir: Lee Toland Krieger


This is one of those shows that was intensely popular seemingly the moment it started streaming. It's mainstream fanfare meant I was a little hesitant to watch it, as I have been with shows such as Game Of Thrones, for example. However, once I started it, I found it to be immensely intriguing and watchable.


At times it gets a little cringy, for lack of a better term, but for the most part it is a highly engrossing watch. The narrative develops in intriguing fashion with some intense flash points placed throughout the season.

Penn Badgley stars here, and while he occasionally has moments of being a little too goofy, for my taste at least, for the most part he is excellent. The second half of the season in particular sees his best scenes.


His co-star Elizabeth Lail left me feeling even more conflicted. She has some really well acted scenes, but I also found her hard to like at times. I think, in terms of her performance, her highlights came in the first few episodes, where she was very good.

I'd so like to give mentions to Zach Cherry, Luca Padovan, John Stamos, Ambyr Childers and Shay Mitchell, who all help to add to the intrigue of both primary and secondary arcs.


Overall, this debut season has a lot of positives, and I can understand why people flocked to watch it in their droves when it arrived on Netflix. I'll be intrigued to watch season 2 down the road.


Comments


bottom of page