top of page

Top Gun (1986) Dir: Tony Scott

Instagram post:

It took me a shockingly long time to watch this 1986 classic. Directed by Tony Scott, brother of my namesake. This high flying action film is as thrilling as it is cheesy, which is to say, very.


The soundtrack is great, the flying sequences are shot fantastically and there's a lot of 80s humour that's easy to enjoy. The story was alright, but it definitely dragged a bit and the conflict was kind of lacking for what you would hope for in a fighter jet action film.

Tom Cruise gave a decent performance with some memorable moments, but I actually think he was second best here, but more on that in a moment.


Val Kilmer felt like a disappointing antagonist to me - he was more petulant and childish than anything else. He was a high-school jock of a character.

Kelly McGillis gave a good performance in her supporting role, and I would certainly have enjoyed it if she'd had a few more scenes.


As illuded to, Cruise was not the best performer in this film - instead I would say that was Anthony Edwards. He was so endearing and humorous - I just found him so much easier to enjoy on-screen than anybody else, including Cruise.

Finally, I'll mention Meg Ryan, Rick Rossovich, Tom Skerritt, Tim Robbins, Michael Ironside and James Tolkan.


Overall, although the film is not quite as good as I was expecting, I still enjoyed watching this quite a lot. It's a film that sounds and looks great, and is most certainly a fun watch.


Comments


bottom of page