top of page

Star Wars: Tales Of The Empire (2024) Cre: Dave Filoni

Instagram post:



I have been eagerly anticipating this quasi-sequel to the popular Jedi iteration of this Disney Plus anthology series, near enough since the original set of episodes arrived on streaming. My excitement was only furthered by an excellent trailer, which sold me completely. Dave Filoni seems fond of these Clone Wars adjacent stories, and so am I.


I love the idea of these episodes. I think the way they add context and characterisation to some of the less heavily featured characters in the Star Wars universe is really nice. The show is just a really nice accompaniment to the other creations, especially the post-Disney ones.


There were two arcs than ran across each half the series, each exploring the journeys of two interesting but previously underutilised characters. I was pleasantly surprised by the path that the second arc took - it expanded on a lot, and gave new life to its protagonist.


The soundtrack was excellent. It had hints of Blade Runner, as well as the typical Star Wars themes, which I absolutely loved. I also felt comparisons to the final season of The Clone Wars. The sombre, more sinister tones accompanied the episodes and really fed the storylines playing out on-screen.


Overall, I thought this was another enjoyable set of shorts, which provided much in the way of entertainment and storytelling. It isn't a must-watch by any means, at least in terms of it being necessary for other Star Wars productions, however, I think it's definitely worth checking out, especially for fans of The Clone Wars and Tales Of The Jedi. I hope they make more of these anthologies.



コメント


bottom of page