top of page

Star Wars: Rebels - Season 4 (2017) Cre: Dave Filoni




The climactic episodes of season 3 set-up the fourth and final season of this now pretty popular Star Wars series very well. I will admit, it took a little time for me to be won over, and while I certainly don't think it matches up to The Clone Wars series, I still enjoy it a fair amount.


This being the final season, as I mentioned above, I was keen to see how things would come to a close, although I did have a bit of a clue, thanks to the 'Ahsoka' series. I like how this show has linked up a lot of Star Wars lore, and this season in particular has further explored the more fantastical elements of the lore. Some of it is definitely weird, but I didn't mind it.



With less episodes in the season, just 15, the overarching narrative had much better pacing than prior iterations, and meant that everything flowed much better. It kept me fully engaged throughout, which was no doubt helped by the relatively short episode lengths; less than 25 minutes.


The emotional resonance of this final season, perhaps understandably, was also a lot stronger. There were a number of big moments, some of them very sad, which kept me, as a viewer, on my toes. In that regard, this season showed a lot of improvement upon the prior three seasons.



The show's ending was, of course, quite emotional. I knew near enough what was coming, thanks to the 'Ahsoka' series, but I still enjoyed watching it. I think there was a lot of room left exactly for show's like 'Ahsoka' to build from, which is great because there's a lot of characters, planets and storylines that I'd like to see more of.


Overall, this last season was probably the best of the four. It had consistency, it had focus and it had some of the best moments in the entire show. I'm glad that I stuck with this one, because even though I wasn't the biggest fan of it, I think it grew on me a good amount.



Comments


bottom of page