top of page

Rocky (1976) Dir: John G. Alvidsen

Instagram post:

This may surprise some of you, but until this year, I had never seen a single film from this franchise. John G. Alvidsen's 1976 boxing drama is often considered a classic, especially in the United States, and while I certainly enjoyed it, I initially struggled to see why it was such a beloved film.


Presently, I settled upon the power of the underdog story that this film thrives upon. After all, it is so often said that everybody loves an underdog.

Furthermore, there's the very clear essence of opportunity that people across the Atlantic love to refer to as the American Dream. And in all honesty, the film is so patriotic, I half expected Hulk Hogan to appear waving the flag.


The screenplay, to my surprise, was written by, of all people, Rocky Balboa himself; Sylvester Stallone - which is impressive, particularly considering that this story launched him into the stratosphere and ignited a nation-defining franchise.

Beyond the fantastic underdog narrative, I did not enjoy the rest of the storytelling. First and foremost, the romantic arc did not age well at all. I was personally very uncomfortable watching it at times.


Sylvester Stallone stars, providing a believable protagonist who is defined by his city, as well as his personal flaws. This leads to him being somehow both endearing and irritating, almost scene by scene.

Talia Shire plays the key supporting role, and while her first act is weak, she improves dramatically as the story progresses.


Carl Weathers is by far my favourite performer here, with his swarve elegance and charisma oozing from the screen and making him an incredibly likeable character.

Burt Young is honestly my least favourite performer in the film. I just found him incredibly unlikeable and irritating.


Burgess Meredith has a mediocre start, but towards the end of the film, I came to enjoy his character a lot more.

I'll also mention Tony Burton and Joe Spinell, who I thought were good value for money, despite limited screentime.


Overall, whilst I certainly enjoyed this to an extent, I can't help but feel it's a little overrated, at least critically speaking. The film bleeds Philadelphia and America, and American culture adores this film, which no doubt is a huge factor in why this became such a huge franchise.


Comments


bottom of page