top of page

Ready Or Not (2019) Dir: Matt Bettinelli-Olpin & Tyler Gillett

Instagram post:

I had heard so many good things about this horror comedy, directed by the duo of Matt Bettinelli-Olpin and Tyler Gillett, and I couldn't wait to watch it at last. I knew the basic premise of the film coming into it, but beyond that, I was in the dark.


Visually speaking, the film was rather satisfying, despite not utilising anything overly spectacular or unique. One of my favourite features of the mise-en-scène were the costumes used, which, again, weren't spectacular, but in conjuntion with the set design, created a superb aesthetic for the film.

The story had a simple setup, but quickly and excellently divulged into a number of interesting and wonderfully entertaining sequences and emotional subplots that gave the film so much more depth than I expected.


Samara Weaving makes for a fantastic and extremely memorable final girl that will no doubt be remembered fondly by fans of modern horror. She was just so entertaining and likable. Most of all, she was easy to root for. Her screams were killer too, excuse the wordplay.

Mark O'Brien and Adam Brody provided great supporting characters that stood above the rest of the film's co-stars when it came to the emotional scenes.


Of the remaining cast, Kristian Bruun and Nicky Guadagni stood out particularly for me, thanks to their excellent comedic timing, which had me in heaps of laughter at times.

Credit too belongs to Henry Czerny, Andie MacDowell, Melanie Scrofano, Elyse Levesque and John Ralston for their contributions in supporting roles.


Overall, this was so much more fun than I was expecting it to be, with a number of films having tried and failed to do the same kind of thing. Honestly, this is one of the best horror comedies I've seen, and I could definitely rewatch this one and enjoy it just as much.


Comments


bottom of page