top of page

Interview With The Vampire (1994) Dir: Neil Jordan

Instagram post:

Neil Jordan's 1994 romantic horror is based on the story by Anne Rice, and has the feel of a classic vampire story, but with a modern twist.


Furthermore, the portrayal of the vampires is more emotional than you will find in most other stories, something I for one enjoyed.

The film wasn't how I expected, in a good way, and I found myself enjoying it a lot, despite what can only be described as slow pacing.


The narrative, while perhaps meandering, was certainly interesting, and contained plenty of character development. There was also a really fun twist ending that I didn't see coming but appreciated a lot.

Brad Pitt leads with what was at times an exceptional display. I particularly enjoyed the way he showed his vulnerability and desperation in act one.


Tom Cruise provided an excellent performance as Pitt's co-star. His outbursts were phenomenal and I thought he showed a lot more variety than he often does in his more typical films and characters.

Kirsten Dunst gave an amazing performance bearing in mind her age, with some phenomenally well-acted scenes, especially in the second act.


Christian Slater had a surprisingly minor role in the film, but I thought he was solid enough, although perhaps not as memorable as he could have been.

I'll also mention Antonio Banderas, Thandiwe Newton and Stephen Rea, who all had memorable scenes in their supporting roles.


Overall, this film surprised me in plenty of positive ways, and while it did drag a little at times, I would say it has enough depth in it to make it well worth watching.


Comments


bottom of page