top of page

No One Will Save You (2023) Dir: Brian Duffield

Instagram post:

This Brian Duffield directed horror took me a little by surprise, it must be said. I wasn't entirely sure what it was I was going to watch, but I can't say I was at all disappointed. It was 90 minutes of surreal horror and comedy.


I loved that it used the traditional and iconic alien interpretation to build a modern horror film around. It turned something admittedly cliché and made it feel a little more fresh.

The plot was pretty simple, but still managed to do all sorts of wild things that formed a rather weird but intriguing storyline that I simply couldn't look away from. However, it is worth saying that there was also a really solid subplot that quietly ran it's course beautifully, which I found very satisfying.


Some nice opening shots

The only thing I thought maybe fell a little short was the CGI, but that was only really noticeable a few times - they got away with it for the most part.

Kaitlyn Dever gave a performances befitting the role; entirely strange - in the most positive of ways. She must have had about four lines of dialogue, but she didn't need any more than that. She was fascinating.


Overall, I have to say I really enjoyed this. I enjoyed the bizarre happenings of it, I enjoyed the simplicity of the story and of the performances and I enjoyed the mixture of classic and modern horror techniques. Such a strange but enjoyable little film.


Comments

Couldn’t Load Comments
It looks like there was a technical problem. Try reconnecting or refreshing the page.
bottom of page