top of page

Hemlock Grove: Season 1 (2013) Dir: Deran Sarafian




I have wanted to watch this since I was a teenager, but always had something to watch instead. I knew a little about it, but not much. I predicted that the series would be extremely engsty, and I wasn't disappointed.


The series is very clearly aimed at teenagers. What's more, there is a lot of explicit content, which isn't bad, but means you should maybe avoid watching it with your parents.



The narrative has its strengths and weaknesses, but ultimately the positive outweighs the negative quite easily. The final three episodes are particularly enthralling and suspenseful, leading to an exciting and thrilling finale which sets up the second season very well.


The final episode does have some very disturbing moments, but as long as you're not too squeamish, you'll be alright watching it.



Bill Skarsgård is the best performer of anyone in this series, he shows the creepiness he would become famous for as Pennywise, as well as a surprising amount of humanity in some quieter scenes.


Landon Liboiron was another who gave consistently strong performances, particularly in the last few episodes.



Famke Jansson was elegant and powerful in her role, and commanded each scene she appeared in throughout the season.


Dougray Scott had some decent performances but was a little inconsistent at times too.



Penelope Mitchell gave a great performance as her supporting character, with her best moments coming in the final three episodes.


Freya Tingley gave me strong Effy Stonem vibes at points, and overall, I'd say she was an intriguing character.



Kandyse McClure's character had a lot of potential but ended up being a little irritating if I'm honest. That said, she had some good moments.


Nicole Boivin plays a lovely character that felt like the heart and soul of the series, and Boivin's performances made that undeniable.



Finally, I'll mention some names I simply didn't have space to write more about, but whom deserved a mention; Aaron Douglas, Lili Taylor, Kaniehtiio Horn and Joel de la Fuente.


Overall, I can't help but feel like this is exactly the kind of series I would've loved when I was 17. That's not to say I didn't enjoy it now though, I definitely did - and what's more, I am very keen to continue watching and find out what dark and shocking events happen next.



Kommentare


bottom of page