top of page

Fight Club (1999) Dir: David Fincher

Instagram post:



The first rule of Fight Club is; don't misinterpret the film's message and make it your whole personality. David Fincher's most famous film, based on the novel by Chuck Palahniuk, is one of those films, like 'American Psycho', adopted, ironically, by the incel community, but if you actually use your brain, you'll find a film that's great for entirely different reasons.


The film is a magnificent analysis and critique of toxic masculinity and incelibate culture. I'd forgotten just how critical the film was, which is partially why I left it so long to rewatch it. Ironically, it's also hilariously and wonderfully homoerotic, which I love.


I think I enjoyed the film a lot more now because I understood the irony and satire of it all a lot more. Moreover, the more explicit theme of the film; rampant consumerism in modern society, was very well presented and incorporated into the rest of the film.


Edward Norton gives one of the best performances of his career in this film - he just nails it. I love how on-edge and genuinely unstable he feels throughout the film - it works so well for what's happening around him. The scenes where he gets really chaotic are so entertaining, both in a shocking way and a humorous way.


Brad Pitt oozes charisma in this iconic role, which explains why so many men - in both the film and in real life - flock to his character so much. He has a presence that makes every one of his scenes memorable, though I also want to credit the costume department for their part in that too.


My favourite performance in the film comes from Helena Bonham Carter, even though she doesn't have that much actual screentime. I think she is a supremely talented actress, and she exhibited as much here. The way she was able to show her character's flaws and vulnerabilities was very impressive.


I tell you what, I had completely blanked that this film also features Meat Loaf and Jared Leto in supporting roles, but there you go. Aside from those two, the only person I wanted to mention was Holt McCallany.


Overall, watching this as an adult was so much more fun than watching it as a teenager - it's hilarious! It's great that the film that insecure straight guys adore so fervently is also the gayest film ever. On a more serious note, this film has so many great qualities to it, and it's a shame that some people have ruined the appeal of the film a little.



Comments


bottom of page