top of page

Everything, Everywhere, All At Once (2022) Dir: Daniel Kwan & Daniel Scheinert

Instagram post:

When you see a film that is so universally adored and raved about as this is, you know it's something special. And my goodness, special does not begin to do this film justice. It is insane, it is wonderful, it is beautiful, it is heartwrenching and it is magnificent. Visually it is wild and stunning in the most beautiful ways. The writing and directing, both by Daniel Kwan & Daniel Scheinert, are masterful and chaotic.


The emotions and philosophy of this story are magnificent. It brought me to tears on multiple occasions. A24 have once again produced an epic piece of cinema art. The film was nominated for 11 Oscars, and won 7 of them, all deservingly so.

The entire cast is fabulous, and have subsequently been showered with praise and accolades.


Michelle Yeoh has the performance of a lifetime, as so many of her colleagues did here. She is ethereal, emotional and truly incredible.

Ke Huy Quan is endearing and witty in the key supporting role. I cannot sing his praises enough.


Stephanie Hsu also provides an incredible display of acting, her third act in particular is something to behold. I think she was phenomenal.

The iconic Jamie Lee Curtis is yet another who gives a brilliant performance, and fully commits to her strange and silly character, to great effect. I think she was incredibly funny and entertaining.


Acting legend James Hong also has a praiseworthy performance in his supporting role. I wasn't expecting to enjoy his character as much I did, which was a very pleasant surprise.

Finally, I'll give mentions to some of the more noteworthy supporting cast; Jenny Slate, Harry Shum Jr, Tallie Medel, Randy Newman, Biff Wiff and Sunita Mani.


Overall, this is one of the most magical and unique pieces of cinema I've ever seen, and truly deserves the immense praise for which it has earned. My first reaction when the credits rolled was "wow", and I think that sums it up appropriately.


Comments


bottom of page