top of page

Dungeons & Dragons: Honour Among Thieves

Instagram post:

When this was first announced, I could not have been more disinterested. However, the surprisingly positive critical and audience reception of the film convinced me that it might be worth a try.


Co-directors John Francis Daley and Jonathon Goldstein create a film that doesn't take itself too seriously, and instead focuses on being a fun and exciting adventure.

The story functions well enough, although it does suffer from having a number of convenient plot points that move the narrative along. One of my favourite things about this film though, was the use of practical effects to bring some of the more magical characters to life - something I am always a fan of.


Chris Pine leads a decent cast, and provides a very standard Chris Pine performance. A bit of wit, plenty of charisma, but nothing overly spectacular. He works well with his co-stars, and makes sure to deliver his one-liners well.

Justice Smith gives one of the better performances I've seen him deliver - I felt that he was very endearing throughout. I'm still not completely convinced of him, but this certainly helped his cause in my view.


Michelle Rodriguez gives a really fun performance in a role that feels quite new for her, at least in terms of what I've seen. She was my favourite character quite easily, especially because of her juxtaposition to Pine.

Sophia Lillis is another who was fun to watch, particularly when she had scenes with Smith. She seemed to grow as the film progressed, with her third act being her best.


Iconic British actor Hugh Grant might be playing the same old character as he always does, but it actually really worked here. What's more, with the slightly different role of his character in the story, from what he's usually cast as, I found him to be a really solid inclusion to the cast.

Finally, I'll give quick mentions to Chloe Coleman, Regé-Jean Page and Daisy Head, whom all provided solid performances in roles of varying sizes.


Overall, this was a bundle of fun and way more enjoyable than it had any right to be. I don't think it needed the 'Dungeons & Dragons' name above it, but nonetheless, it was an exciting adventure.


Comments

Couldn’t Load Comments
It looks like there was a technical problem. Try reconnecting or refreshing the page.
bottom of page