top of page

Back To The Future: Part 3 (1990) Dir: Robert Zemeckis

Instagram post:

The final part of Robert Zemeckis' time travelling trilogy is perhaps its most audacious. And while it is certainly a bit silly, it is also the most fun of the three films - at least in my view.


This is an example of a film that has aged well, for me personally. What I mean is that I enjoy it more now than I did as a child or teenager. Back then, I thought it was maybe a bit too much, with the setting and storyline. But now, I find to be an absolute romp of a film.


Alan Silvestri's music is just as enjoyable as always, which only adds to the quality of the film, and guides the action and comedy tremendously so that the energy keeps up and the film feels fast.


The story is tremendous fun, and manages to keep up that formidable pairing of humour and sincerity that made the prior films so good. The best thing about the trilogy is how intertwined and well-formed the films are with one another. It makes all three of them so rewatchable.


Michael J. Fox and Christopher Lloyd return, of course, to complete one of cinema's greatest trilogies. Each one provides an excellent, entertaining and thoroughly enjoyable performance. I adore this duo, and I doubt there are many twosomes in film that are more popular.


Mary Steenburgen was a wonderful addition to the cast, and has remained a very entertaining feature of the trilogy's final installment. Sure, her character is a bit of an oddity on occasion, but I think she was certainly more of a positive inclusion than a negative one.


The other three key returning faces deserve plenty of credit too, especially Thomas F. Wilson, who is actually one of the most entertaining characters in the trilogy. The other two names being Lea Thompson and Claudia Wells, who admittedly have much smaller roles.


Overall, this was, and is, a superb way to finish off one of the best trilogies to ever grace the screen. All three films have a sense of goofy joy to them that is full of nostalgia and sentimentality. The first might always be my favourite, but I will always adore this one too.


Comments


bottom of page