top of page

Back To The Future: Part 2 (1989) Dir: Robert Zemeckis

Instagram post:

As a child, this was my least favourite of the three iconic time travelling adventures, I couldn't really tell you why, but I definitely still enjoyed it. On this most recent watching, I think I appreciated this sequel so much more.


Robert Zemeckis went to great lengths to imagine and bring to life a vision of the future which, while by no means accurate, was great fun and full of quirky sci-fi fun.


The story utilises that of the first film brilliantly, while also keeping the time travel aspects relatively simple, which means the audience can keep up pretty easily.


Alan Silvestri once again composes a superb soundtrack which complements the story perfectly. I love the vision of this film so much, I think it's creative and very funny.


Michael J. Fox once again stars, and this time he gives his strongest performance of the trilogy. He overacts just the right amount, and his comedic timing with Lloyd, as always, is spot on.


Speaking of whom, Christopher Lloyd also returns, and continues to shine with his wonderfully larger than life persona and hilarious comedy. He is the best character in the trilogy for a reason, and he makes these films better because of it.


Thomas F. Wilson gets a more varied and interesting role in this sequel, and delivers an excellently over-the-top and villainous performance to suit. I think this film sees his best display of the trilogy.


The film also features three solid, if more minor, supporting performances from Lea Thompson and Claudia Wells - both worth mentioning.


Overall, I appreciate this second film so much more than I used to, and while it still isn't my favourite of the three films, I will certainly give it its well deserved flowers now. It's an iconic and excellent sequel which makes for the perfect middle chapter to the trilogy.


留言


bottom of page