top of page

A Haunting In Venice (2023) Dir: Kenneth Branagh

Instagram post:

It may surprise some that this was actually one of my most anticipated films of the year. I have enjoyed Kenneth Branagh's previous adaptations of acclaimed mystery writer Agatha Christie - this one, based upon her 1969 mystery 'Hallowe'en Party', might even be my favourite of the lot.


The story plays with tropes of both supernatural thrillers and more traditional murder mysteries, and ultimately produces a keenly watchable story with plenty of intrigue and suspense.

I was, of course, curious as to how they would explain the supernatural aspects of the film, and while this was perhaps a slightly weaker point of the film, I wasn't dismayed by it - in short, it works enough to get away with it.


I adored some of the cinematography of the film, which capitalised on its iconic setting and location to produce a number of exquisite shots.

Kenneth Branagh has consistently been a strong and compelling force as the intuitive Belgian detective, a trend that continues here too. I adore his portrayal of Poirot; I think he is able to show the obsessive investigative mind brilliantly, while also making sure to show the human underneath with a wonderful subtlety.


Tina Fey was delightful in her key supporting role. She had a wit and a cheek to her character that I adored, especially with how she subsequently interacted with Branagh.

Kelly Reilly had some very well acted scenes, in which her ability to show intense emotions was certainly commendable. That said, I would almost have liked her to give a little more in the calmer scenes, although that is fairly nitpicky.


Jamie Dornan and the young Jude Hill have a wonderful connection throughout the film, and I think Hill was very impressive in how he played a character who acts beyond his years.

Camille Cottin gave a pretty convincing performance, but sadly was underutilised, I think. Her character had a lot more potential than she got to show. I guess that is one of the limitations of having an ensemble cast.


Michelle Yeoh has a small but very interesting role, one which she performed very well. She has a lot more variety than, until recently, it seems people have recognised.

To save a little time, I'll round up the final few noteworthy names by saying they were all fairly decent, but less of note than the aforementioned names. These final few names being Kyle Allen, Riccardo Scamarcio, Ali Khan and Emma Laird.


Overall, I have to say I had a great time watching this murder mystery. In many respects, this is my favourite of the three 'Hercule Poirot' films thus far. This is one franchise I think has done well to make its films feel unique, whilst maintaining a familiar sense of character that many tend to lose.


Comments


bottom of page