top of page

Murder On The Orient Express (2017) Dir: Kenneth Branagh [Re-Review]

Instagram post:

Interestingly enough, I have reviewed this before, all the way back in April 2018. Back then, I was rather cynical of this murder mystery, but, nearly 5 years later, I felt a fresh look was worthwhile.


Whereas I had originally seen the narrative as mediocre, I found myself enjoying and appreciating it far more upon a second viewing.

Yes, you can probably guess the reveal if you really look for it, but for those simply seeking enjoyment and intrigue, this will most certainly satisfy your needs.


At the time of my initial viewing, I wasn't aware that this cinematic Agatha Christie story was directed by Kenneth Branagh, who also stars as the archetypal detective Poirot. His performance is, on the whole, very strong, with his Belgian accent being admirable and the delivery of particular lines being exemplary.

Johnny Depp gives one of the best performances of the film's immensely talented cast, with his facial expressions being especially good. I had forgotten how good he was in this, I barely even remembered him from the first time I saw this.


Daisy Ridley is another who gives an excellent performance. This is one of her best performances, in my view. She has great chemistry with both Branagh and Leslie Odom Jr, whom, might I add, also gives am enjoyable performance.

Olivia Coleman and Judi Dench make for a wonderfully enjoyable pairing, who's chemistry is clear from the outset of their scenes together. Both exude elegance and consistently show their poise as actors in their supporting roles.


Michelle Pfieffer has some very well acted scenes in the second half of the film, though her performance in the first half was less to my liking.

I'd also like to give credit to Willem Dafoe, Penélope Cruz, Josh Gad, Derek Jacobi, Tom Bateman, Sergei Polunin, Lucy Boynton, Manu el Garcia-Rulfo and Phil Dunster, who all contributed in a positive manner in their supporting roles.


Overall, this was better than I remember upon my first viewing, I definitely would recommend it to fans of Agatha Christie and the murder mystery genre as a whole.


Comentários

Não foi possível carregar comentários
Parece que houve um problema técnico. Tente reconectar ou atualizar a página.
bottom of page