top of page

Zombieland (2009) Dir: Ruben Fleischer

Instagram post:

When it comes to zombie films, there are two that I always return to time and time again. The first is 'Shaun Of The Dead'. The other is this 2009 comedic horror from director Ruben Fleischer. It isn't a perfect film, sure, but it's one of the most fun horror films around without a doubt.


When it comes to zombie films, the kills have to be good, and this film is full of ridiculous and creative kills. I think they all looked pretty good as well, thanks to some decent physical and visual effects. These come to the fore in what is one of my favourite opening credit montages ever, which also features the epic "For Whom The Bell Tolls" by 'Metallica'.


I think the film had its aesthetic down nicely, from the set design, which was very much an effective post-apocalyptic vision, to the costumes and make-up for the zombies, which looked a lot better than in a number of other famous zombie films.


The narrative is pretty par for the course, as far as zombie films go; people trying to survive the apocalypse. However, I really enjoy the unique creases to the story that make this one both enjoyable and surprisingly heartwarming. There are definitely character arcs, and they certainly affect the way the story progresses.


I am not typically the biggest fan Jesse Eisenberg and his notoriously awkward deliveries. However, I think it worked really well for this character. I will say that it helps that this was one of the first films with Eisenberg I saw, so that awkward persona was still kinda new, but also, it genuinely does work here, particularly in how he plays off of Harrelson.


Woody Harrelson was truly hilarious here - the role was tailor-made for him. His comedic style meshed perfectly with the feel of the film, and his on-screen chemistry with Eisenberg and Breslin was genuinely fun to see. This has to be one of my favourite Harrelson performances, partly because of just how much fun he seems to be having.


Emma Stone didn't give a spectacular performance, by any means, but I think she still had some pretty strong scenes - especially during the more serious moments in the film. I did also enjoy plenty of Stone's comedy in the role though - she always has entertaining facial expressions at the very least.


Abigail Breslin was, in the best way, a little menace in the film. She worked well with all three of her co-stars, and had some really funny moments, particularly in scenes with Harrelson. I thought she was a really good casting choice and she provided a decent acting performance.


Overall, I think what makes this film so easy to rewatch year after year is how absurdly funny it is. It just nails the balance between silly comedy and genuinely creepy horror. I think, even though it's only fifteen years old now, it has aged pretty well. And it always helps having Metallica on the soundtrack. Zack Snyder wishes he could direct a zombie film this good.


Commenti


bottom of page