top of page

Bottoms (2023) Dir: Emma Seligman

Instagram post:

Emma Seligman's well-received gay comedy went under my radar quite a bit when it came out last year. However, when it became available to stream, I decided it looked like a good use of my evening. I was not prepared for how much I would enjoy it.


The film was hilarious! Seligman and co-writer Rachel Sennott, who also starred, provided funny, lighthearted humour that was adult without being flagrant or vulgar, which I find a lot of other young-adult comedies to be. The writing in general was really solid, with believable, if eccentric characters, and genuinely humorous moments in just about every scene.


The film was confident and outspoken in its themes and presentation, without being preachy or pandering. The way everything came across felt genuine and well placed in the story. I loved how cleverly the film tackled some very real issues for women and lgbtqia+ community members in a lighthearted but sincere manner.


I loved the absurdity of some of the events in the film, not just from a story standpoint, but the way they were presented visually, was great fun. The film was very colourful, amazingly flamboyant, and wonderfully over-the-top. It was everything you'd want from a modern, teen, gay comedy.


I thought Rachel Sennott was brilliant, and showed a tonne of character, charisma and comedic chops. I can really see why she is becoming very popular among film fans. I thought she was exceptionally funny and extremely enjoyable to watch.


Ayo Edebiri may just be one of the most likable young actresses today. She has such a lovely, likable energy that radiates from her both on and off-screen. That energy shone through dazzlingly, as she provided the film's most varied and terrific performance.


Ruby Cruz was another who I found to be a true delight, who had some of the best individual moments in the film. I also thought Havana Rose Liu was a real standout, thanks to some really strong scenes in the second half of the film.


Of the remaining cast members, I particularly enjoyed the work of Nicholas Galitzine, Kaia Jordan Gerber, Summer Joy Campbell, Miles Fowler and, of all people, NFL legend Marshawn Lynch - who was a hugely entertaining surprise.


Overall, I think this was an absolute delight of a film that had me in stitches from start to finish. It was such an entertaining comedy and I'm so glad I decided to watch it. It's also one of the best LGBTQIA+ films I've seen, partly because it was actually a fun and happy story that stayed fun and happy.


Comments


bottom of page