top of page

You Are Not My Mother (2021) Dir: Kate Dolan

Instagram post:

This Irish independent psychological horror has gone pretty under the radar since its release in September 2021. I certainly hadn't heard of it. Written and directed by Kate Dolan, this was a really uncomfortable watch - and I mean that as a compliment.


The creepiness was impossible to miss, with some really clever uses of camera shots and focus points that emphasise the suspense. The soundtrack also aided this, with some judiciously selected sounds and music that was sinister and foreboding.

The narrative was solid for the most part, although I will say the ending was slightly unclear, but not bad by any means. The twist reveal was also a bit predictable but still worked well enough to satisfy me as a viewer.


Hazel Doupe stars here, she comes across a little inexperienced, but all-in-all, I think she did pretty well. I thought she did particularly well in the second half, in which she worked well with her colleagues.

Carolyn Bracken provides us with the film's other major character, and gives a disturbing but very sound performance. She definitely excelled in the second half, especially towards the end.


Another supporting cast member is Jordanne Jones, who grows into her role well. I would've liked to see a little more expression, but beyond that, I liked what she showed. 

Ingrid Craigie has some decent scenes, particularly in the second act, she has some good chemistry with Doupe in particular. Finally, I'll mention Jade Jordan and Paul Reid, both did well with their limited screentime.


Overall, this is one of those horrors that is almost great, but doesn't quite cross that threshold, instead remaining in the 'good' category. I did enjoy this, it just wasn't quite able to deliver on its horror potential in my view.


Comments


bottom of page