top of page

The Wind Rises (2013) Dir: Hayao Miyazaki

Instagram post:

I've seen a lot of Studio Ghibli films, but there are a few that, thus far, have illuded me. It was until now that this 2013 animated film, directed, of course, by the legendary Hayao Miyazaki, was among those few. Interestingly, this story was based on the life of Jiro Horikoshi, a talented Japanese aviation engineer.


There will be no surprise when I say that the artwork and animation was absolutely wonderful, as is to be expected from any Studio Ghibli film. My favourite thing about the art style in these films is the lovely array of colours that are always used.


One thing I didn't like was the sound design. It felt like there was something missing from it. There wasn't enough diagetic sound, which made the film feel a little empty, from an auditory standpoint. It was a little bit strange to notice.


I enjoyed the narrative plenty, although it was perhaps a little too slow for me. But then, that wasn't a huge problem. The romantic aspect of the film was truly wholesome and sweet - I adored it. The aeronautical side of the story was also pretty enjoyable, although it was a tiny bit dull at times.


My actor performance reviews concern the English voice cast, as it was a dubbed version of the film that I watched.


Joseph Gordon-Levitt gave an okay, but not spectacular, performance in the film's leading role. I felt as though he needed to put a little more emotion into his voice, in order to have really blown me away. That said, I didn't mind him most of the time - it was just a few scenes where I wanted more from him.


Emily Blunt was an absolute delight, and she matched the wholesome energy of her character with an engaging and endearing performance. She had a softness to her voice that was perfect for her character, and made her a wonderful presence in the story.


John Krasinski has one of those voices you could listen to all day, and it suits the Miyazaki style so well. He gave a warm and likable performance, and I actually think he could have been been a better fit for the protagonist's role, not to take anything away from Gordon-Levitt.


There were some delightful supporting performances that were full of personality, particularly from the likes of Stanley Tucci, Martin Short and, of all people, Werner Herzog. I also enjoyed the smaller, but still notable voice acting performances of Mae Whitman, William H. Macy and Mandy Patinkin.


Overall, I thought this was a rather lovely film, but it definitely isn't one of the very top tier Studio Ghibli films, in my opinion anyway. It's wholesome, heartwarming and romantic, but lacks a little emotional oomph when it needs it. Even so, it was a pretty pleasant viewing experience.


Comments


bottom of page