top of page

The Sound Of Music (1965) Dir: Robert Wise

Instagram post:



Robert Wise's 1965 musical is amongst the most important, memorable and iconic pieces of cinema of the 20th Century. It is not only a wonderful romance and family story, it also serves as an important piece of anti-fascist cinema. It had been a long time since I last watched it, but I was very keen to see how it held up.


The film boasts a truly iconic snd joyful soundtrack, beautifully sung by all. It's truly delightful, with each song well placed throughout each scene, as well as the overarching story. I'm not a big musical person, but I adore the music used in this 60's classic.


I forgot the film was nearly 3 hours long, which did worry me a bit before I started watching it, but I found the pacing to be pretty solid. The film had a consistent flow to it, which allowed the film to keep its steady momentum. This thankfully meant that the film didn't feel as long as it was.


The narrative is, as I'm sure many will agree, very good. It conveys romance, joy, freedom, identity, discovery and more, all on the backdrop of a far more sinister, but very real, historical and social context. The film highlights some of the fallout of the so-called 'Anschluss' in Austria, and while it isn't as in-depth as some war films, it doesn't really need to be.


Julie Andrews was a timeless and majestic joy from start to finish. She really looked like she had the time of her life, which is understandable. Her singing was fabulous, and her acting extremely enjoyable. It's no wonder that her performance is so fondly remembered.


Christopher Plummer was distinguished and captivating in one of his most iconic roles. He illustrated his character's evolution so wonderfully, and showed this growth with charisma and wit. I thoroughly enjoyed his acting, including his singing, which was certainly pleasant.


All the children performed wonderfully, each showcasing their singing and acting talents very nicely. I'd say the standouts were Charmian Carr and Kym Karath, although I also enjoyed Heather Menzies, Nicholas Hammond, Duane Chase, Angela Cartwright and Debbie Turner.


The duo of Eleanor Parker and Richard Haydn provided an entertaining pair of secondary characters. I think both did well with their respective roles, particularly Haydn towards the end of the film. I also think Peggy Wood deserves a quick mention for what was a small but enjoyable role.


Overall, I had such a lovely time revisiting this absolutely classic musical. It has so many strengths and so few weaknesses, and has rightly taken its place in history as one of the most beloved and renowned musicals to-date. I haven't watched this nearly as much as I should've, but I'm glad I took the time to do so again.



Comments


bottom of page