top of page

The Mousetrap (1947) By Agatha Christie




"A murder? Oh, I like murder!"

Agatha Christie's iconic West End play, which was first written in 1947, under the name 'Three Blind Mice', came to my attention thanks to my great enjoyment of the film 'See How They Run' (2022). I had not read any works from Christie, prior to this play - something that I really felt I should change, and why not start with one of her most loved creations?


"This is a serious matter. Somebody has removed my only chance of communication with the outside world."

The first thing to mention, is just how engrossing, yet concise, Christie's stage descriptions are. She creates a very vivid description of the setting of her play, and is very direct and effective in her use of language. The setting she creates helps to build further mystery and plausibility in said-mystery.


"The only people who really know what other people are like are artists - and they don't know why they know it!”

In terms of the actual narrative and mystery of the play, while I certainly enjoyed the ride, I was surprised with just how quickly it unravelled. I expected there to be more twists and turns than there ultimately were, although, I can understand that there are certain time limitations for a stageplay. The final twist came a little out of left field, but it works well enough.


"So you're running away too. Running away from things instead of facing them?"

My overall thoughts are that, while I certainly enjoyed the play, I can't help but feel like I needed a little more to truly love it. That said, I'm very pleased that I took the time to read the play, and I am most keen to explore more of Agatha Christie's writing in the near future.


"Now that you have seen The Mousetrap, you are our partners in crime and in order to preserve the tradition of The Mousetrap, we ask you to keep the secret if whodunnit locked in your hearts."


Comments


bottom of page