top of page

Shang-Chi And The Legend Of The Ten Rings (2021) Dir: Destin Daniel Crettin

Instagram post:


I have to say, I was fully prepared for this to be yet another example of the increasingly boring rinse and repeat marvel formula of the last few years. Instead, I was treated to what turned out to be one of the best Marvel films I've seen in a long time.


Director Destin Daniel Crettin did a great job of creating a group of genuinely likeable protagonists, as well as executing the vision of the film. The narrative was one of the best of the individual MCU films, and felt rather more unique than the vast majority of other Marvel projects.


Furthermore, I thoroughly enjoyed the fight choreography, which had clear connections to Asian martial arts culture and cinema. Visually, this was also one of my favourite Marvel films, particularly with the use of colour throughout.


Simu Liu shines in his starring role, bringing some fantastic character and relatability to this blockbuster stage. He has very quickly become one of my favourite superheroes of the MCU.


Awkwafina gives the audience another highly likeable character in a supporting role. Her energy is infectious and she oozes personality. She also has some great chemistry with Liu.


Meng'er Zhang provides an intriguing performance that left me wanting to see more of her character. Her fight choreography was also very well executed.


Tony Leung Chiu-Wai provides a reasonably strong antagonist, with a pretty effective back story. Among the smaller roles, Stephanie Hsu, Michelle Yeoh and Benedict Wong all stood out to me.


Overall, I have to say this was a real gem for recent Marvel creations, and it has jumped into my top 5 or 6 MCU films all-time. There was just so much to enjoy here and it was such an easy watch, which is thanks in no small part to how easy it was to watch.

Comments


bottom of page