top of page

Midnight Mass (2021) Dir: Mike Flanagan

Instagram post:


Just by watching the short teaser of this limited series, I could tell this one had real potential to be special. And boy does it deliver on that.


The sinister story and beautifully written characters intertwine to create a masterful series. Add to that a phenomenal and tense musical score with feels of The Lighthouse and other similar creations, and you have something very enthralling.


Hamish Linklater produces what is easily my favourite performance, his delivery was immaculate and his character's development was exemplary - I really loved everything he gave to this series honestly.


Kate Siegel subverted her character's quite persona to produce a very well acted and relatable character - especially during her interactions with Zach Gilford, who's performance was so impressive and enjoyable.


Samantha Sloyan is so detestable here, and I mean that as the highest of compliments. The way she brings out the arrogance and sourness of her character is truly a spectacle to behold.


Rahul Kohli, an actor who I really enjoyed in iZombie, gives a completely different side of his acting I this series, and, but for a couple of tiny shakes in his accent, gives a very commendable performance too.


I wish I could mention just about everyone here but I'll have no room, so I'll finish with Annarah Cymone, who's performances improved episode upon episode.


The narrative seemed to grow and develop in quality and depth as each episode passed, drawing me in more and more with each episode.


My only real negative about this series is that episode 1 was painfully expositional at points, and to be honest, the writing was a little poor for quite a big part of the episode. However, from there the quality of writing increased drastically.


The midpoint twist was excellent, I did not see it coming but it was well done. The series builds slowly and satisfyingly to its crescendo, its finale tying a nice, neat bow around the story.


The series is thought provoking and highly poignant, but manages to flex its horror-based muscles exceedingly well as well.


This fascinating blend of horror and spiritualism works so well it's a wonder no one has made something quite like this before.


It is easily one of the best productions Netflix has made ever, and one of the best series I've seen in a very long time.


The twists had to be executed perfectly to work, and I honestly believe they were. And the seven hour long episodes were exactly the right amount to tell this story without it having to feel rushed or bloated.


I thoroughly enjoyed this series, there is so much to love here, especially for horror fans. It is so worth checking out.

Commenti


bottom of page