top of page

Invincible: Season 2 - Part 2 (2024) Cre: Robert Kirkman

Instagram post:



There seemed to be an age between the release of part one and the start of part two of this second season of Robert Kirkman's popular adult animated superhero series. Having enjoyed the aforementioned first half of the season a fair amount, I was keen to see how the narrative arcs would play out.


To start a little negatively, I would say that part two definitely felt a tad less focused than both part one and season one. I enjoyed a lot of the storylines and events of the season, but it wasn't as concise as before. That said, I think that this part did a lot to set up the third season, which has already been picked up by Amazon Prime.


Conedically, I think these four episodes continued to be on par with the show's previous levels of funny. I loved the meta jokes in regards to the delays to season 2 in real life, as well as the Marvel and DC references, among other hilarious moments.


That said, these episodes also showcased some of the emotional, harrowing scenes that have typified the more serious aspects of the show. The final episode in particular had some excellent imagery and emotions in it, which certainly left the show in good stead before season three.


Steven Yeun was exemplary oncd more in his lead role. I have been consistently impressed by his excellent vocal control, and how believable the emotions he's expressing feel. I found his voice work very endearing, once more. I think Yeun is very good at balancing innocence and volatile emotions, to create a very intriguing balance.


I thought that Zazie Beetz had some wonderfully performed lines of dialogue, which helped to emphasise the emotional arc of her character excellently. She was able to come across both endearing and complex, and had some very enjoyable chemistry with Yeun. I would say that these four episodes marked her best yet.


There are so many othrr names I want to highlight, but I'll have to summarise them up a little bit. Sandra Oh, Walton Goggins and Jason Mantzoukas all gave memorable and very enjoyable performances, in roles that seem to develop better with each episode.


I was also impressed with the likes of Ross Marquand, Seth Rogan, Sterling K. Brown and Gillian Jacobs, although, I was disappointed that Jacobs didn't actually feature much. The same can be said for some of the other returning cast; J.K. Simmons, Zachary Quinto, Grey DeLisle and Malese Jow.


Overall, while this second part of the season may have been a little looser than previous episodes, I still enjoyed it a lot, and I expect season 3 to be another strong one. It was certainly set-up to succeed by this second season, which, as a whole, provided a lot of positives, and some storylines that should continue to be fruitful ground in the coming season.



Comments


bottom of page