top of page

Interstellar (2014) Dir: Christopher Nolan

Instagram post:



For years and years, I have been waiting to watch this. I somehow managed to avoid the spoilers. I was desperate to see it, and finally I got that opportunity. Not many films have ever succeeded in making me cry, but when I tell you I cried buckets at the end of this film, I really mean I cried buckets.


From the I credible soundtrack, composed by the greatest composer in cinema history; Hans Zimmer, to the beautiful cinematography of Hoyte van Hoytema, to the masterful screenplay of Christopher and Jonathon Nolan, to the incomparable direction of Christopher Nolan, this film is it.



It is one of the closest films to perfection I think I have ever seen, and that is not even mentioning the actor performances. This film's use of sound is so genius and inspired, and the way Zimmer's scores match that is so impressive.


The narrative is truly special, it takes you on an emotional ride spanning all of time and space. It makes you laugh and breaks your heart. It is a very special piece of cinema.



Matthew McConaughey gives what may just be his greatest performance - I have never enjoyed him in a film more than this. He is superb and exhibits an astonishing level of range in his performance.


Anne Hathaway may be a divisive actress for some, but this is a film she thrives in. I thoroughly enjoyed her here and thought she did tremendously, particularly in her scenes with McConaughey.



Michael Caine has always been a talented performer, and he continues to show it in this supporting role. His ability to convey emotion is unmatched at times - and this film allows him to prove that once more.


Jessica Chastain is another great talent who gives a great performance here. Her screentime is limited, but she maximises her minutes superbly.



Another with limited screentime that I adored was Mackenzie Foy, whose work with McConaughey was remarkably effective and emotionally evocative. The two had some phenomenal chemistry in their scenes.


Bill Irwin does brilliantly to make a robot legitimately likeable and endearing, I was very pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed his character.



Matt Damon has a pretty small role, but exhibits his great acting ability in the scenes he does have, and shows just how good he can be.


Finally, because I'm limited on space, I'll list some other actors who deserved a mention; John Lithgow, Ellen Burstyn, Topher Grace, Josh Stewart, Timothée Chalamet, David Gyasi, Wes Bentley and Casey Affleck.



Overall, this film has absolutely blown me away. I love it. It is up there among the best films I've ever seen. It might even challenge for that top spot.


It also confirms to me that Christopher Nolan is the greatest director of all time. I know I've said it a few times, but the word I would use to describe this film is special. Nolan's pièce de résistance.



Comentários


bottom of page