top of page

I Am Groot: Season 2 (2023) Dir: Kristen Lepore

Instagram post:

This is perhaps the only Marvel project I have had any interest in as of late, aside from the immensely disappointing Guardians Of The Galaxy 3. The episodes are five minutes long each and are totally inconsequential to the rest of the MCU, which actually makes it even better because Marvel can't ruin it.


The stories are so silly and whimsically fun, and have an innocence to them that is absolutely delightful. My personal favourites were episode 2: 'Groot Noses Around', and episode 5: 'Groot And The Great Prophecy'.


The animation is pretty good throughout, which is nice to see. Marvel certainly weren't lazy with it. Kristen Lepore directed all five shorts, and while they are obviously not long or overly complicated stories, I think she did a decent job bringing them to life regardless.


I was relieved to find that Disney Plus had actually grouped all the episodes together properly, instead of having them all separate, as they had done before. It actually gave the episodes an order too, which is such a small thing, but I appreciated it.


I find it both hilarious and pretty cool that Marvel brought in Vin Diesel to voice his character in these shorts, which probably took him about ten minutes to do. I find it even funnier that they brought in both Bradley Cooper and Jeffrey Wright for very minor voice roles in a couple of episodes too.


Overall, while seasons 1's episodes were a little better on average, I still had a lot of fun watching these shorts. They were such a good idea to put on Disney Plus, and I would happily watch more. They're worth sitting down and watching, season two will literally take you less than half an hour to watch.


Comments


bottom of page