top of page

Horse Girl (2020) Dir: Jeff Baena

Instagram post:

When I put this on, it's safe to say I had no idea what I was about to experience. Directed by Jeff Baena, this independent drama, released on Netflix, is truly an absurd creation.


Actress Alison Brie starred in, co-produced and co-wrote this strange story, and it is certainly one of the stranger films I've seen. The narrative itself is, of course, meant to be quirky, and it certainly succeeds at that.

As far as functionality goes, it works for the most part, although it is slightly hampered by its own surreal nature. Visually and aesthetically, it is quite varied, though not in a negative way, in fact, it makes the film all the more strange for the audience.


As illuded to, Alison Brie stars, and her performance is about what you'd expect from this film: weird. Honestly, I don't know if there's many who could have, or would have, thrown themselves at this role like she did. I respect the creative vision and commitment.

John Laul Reynolds gives a pretty entertaining performance, and manages to play off of Brie well in their scenes together. Another solid performance comes from Debby Ryan, although she doesn't have anywhere near as much screentime as I expected or hoped.


Molly Shannon might have a relatively small role, but she still left a pretty good impression on me. I really liked her character, particularly thanks to her chemistry with Brie.

Finally, I'll mention a few of the noteworthy supporting cast members; Jake Picking, Matthew Gray Gubler, Robin Tunney, Dylan Gelula, Paul Reiser and Jay Duplass.


Overall, this is exactly the kind of film that makes you question reality and the sanity of yourself, as well as its creator. Its bizarre and surreal, but definitely worth checking out.


Comments


bottom of page