top of page

Gravity Falls: Season 2 (2014) Cre: Alex Hirsch


For those of you who read my review of season one, you will know that, although I enjoyed the season, I was not overly captivated by it either. It had felt a little lacking in that extra something that some of my favourite shows have. With that in mind, I was still relatively optimistic for what I hoped to see in season two.


Straight away, it started off far stronger, and more interesting, with some fairly big changes to the show that felt important and had me immediately invested. The first two episodes kept me intrigued in a way that nothing from last season had done consistently.

In fact, the running story of this season was far stronger than before. There were tangible and imoactful storyline developments that affected the show in the long-term, not just episodically. I was especially fond of the "Weirdmageddon" series of episodes, which were the final episodes of the show.


The final episode was wholesome, funny and cute. It hit all the right emotional notes and said goodbye in a very neat way, while casually leaving room for something new somewhere down the line. As of yet, that something new hasn't come to fruition, but there's still time, especially with the nostalgia kick that the film and television industry is on these days.

Kristen Schaal and Jason Ritter finish the show strong with some really decent voice acting performances across the 21 episodes, particularly Schaal, who would go on to bigger and better things. Alex Hirsch also comes across far more endearingly this season, with a fairly good turn around from last time.


Overall, I think this was a pretty solid second season to a show that quietly grew on me a fair amount as I watched. I wouldn't say its among my favourite shows ever, but I can see myself casually rewatching this at some point down the line. I can also see why plenty of people share a collective love of the series, for its fun characters and silly storylines.


Comments


bottom of page