top of page

Gravity Falls: Season 1 (2012) Cre: Alex Hirsch


I have heard some good things about this animated Disney series, which ran for two seasons, but accrued a fairly large cult following since it ended, perhaps prematurely, in 2016. However, before that, I had 20 episodes, which first aired between 15th June 2012 and 2nd August 2013, to make my way through.


It was a little hard to place my feelings towards the series at first. It wasn't that I didn't enjoy it, but I'd say that it failed to grasp me in the same way other animated series have. The episodic stories were okay, but hardly exceptional. There wasn't a thing about the show that was particularly memorable. But then, there was nothing explicitly bad either.

One thing I did enjoy was the animation style, and while, again, it wasn't super unique, it was still full of colour and cartoonish joy. The scenery and building artwork is particularly enjoyable and well designed, which was especially evident during the opening credits.


I'll also give credit where it's due to the subtly developed season arc, which did actually pull me in by the end. My only complaint in that regard is that I wish that they'd given it a little more time, because it was one of the show's biggest strengths.

The two protagonists, voiced by Kristen Schaal and Jason Ritter were likable, but not lovable. I did not, however, care for the main supporting character, voiced by the series creator Alex Hirsch, at all. He did not entertain me in the slightest. On the contrary he felt like a rehashed version of a thousand other animated characters; grumpy, old and a bit goofy.


Overall, while I wouldn't say this was one of the best shows I've ever watched, I will say that it was pretty easy watching, and it certainly grew I quality towards the end of the season. I think I will watch season 2, particularly if the episodes continue to improve in general quality, as they did towards the end of this first season.


Comments


bottom of page