top of page

Don't Breathe (2016) Dir: Fede Álvarez

Instagram post:



This 2016 horror, directed by Fede Álvarez, is one that a lot of people like. I had previously watched it back when I was a teenager, but I don't remember enjoying it at the time. However, enough time had passed for me to want to give it another go, particularly considering how highly a lot of other people regard it.


I have become quite the fan of Álvarez, of late. His eye for satisfying visuals is one of the reasons I enjoy his films so much, and while this one isn't super flashy, it does have some very cool and pretty shots. I was especially impressed by the use of infrared in part of the film, which was very effective, and provided some very interesting visuals.


Álvarez's use of darkness and sound was also very effective, and was perfect for the type of film this was. The emphasis on sound meant that suspense rose exponentially, and created some extremely tense scenes; some of which had me literally holding my breath.


The premise of the film is simple, but as the story unfolds, it reveals evermore layers, which help make the film such a compelling and thrilling watch. The twists draw the audience in further, and keep them invested in what could've been a fairly standard 'hunt and seek' narrative.


Jane Levy gave what was, in my opinion, an excellent performance. Her reactions to some of the more shocking events in the film were exemplary and very believable, which, in turn, increased the impact of said events. Her acting raised this film to the next level - it was very impressive.


Stephen Lang was also very strong in this one, particularly considering he was portraying a blind man. There was no point in which I doubted his blindness, and I thought Lang's mannerisms and movement were on point. I also liked the intonation he gave his voice - it gave his character a sense of history.

Dylan Minnette was the other key actor in the film, and while he didn't reach the levels of the two actors I've already mentioned, I still enjoyed his performance a decent amount. I will also give a quick mention to Daniel Zovatto, who, despite not having much screentime, still made himself a memorable character.


Overall, I am slightly bemused at my teenage self for not enjoying this one, because this time around I loved it. The film had so many strong points, and kept me hooked for its entire ninety-odd minute runtime. It was a great example of modern horror, and certainly has me keen on watching the sequel.



Comments


bottom of page