top of page

Blade Runner: 2049 (2017) Dir: Denis Villeneuve

Instagram post:

I remember my first time watching this Denis Villeneuve directed sequel, and feeling pretty cynical about it. I can't fully remember why. Since then, I have come back to it, time and time again. It has grown on me to such an extent, that I would now consider it a comfort film.


Villeneuve's penchant for visual and auditory excellence comes to the fore once more in glorious fashion. Some of the shots in the film are exquisite, and among the best of the last twenty years of cinema. The score from Hanz Zimmer is masterful and beautiful, as is to be expected of his work.


The story, I think, was what I took issue with back when I originally watched the film. However, I have since grown to love how it plays out. I think it has an emotional heart to it that goes somewhat under-appreciated. Furthermore, I think there's a some really strong imagery and storytelling that allows the film's sense of mystery to really develop nicely.


Ryan Gosling has, perhaps harshly, been criticised or mocked for playing men who don't say particularly much. However, it is worth saying that he is often very good at that exact thing. Case and point, he is absolutely stellar throughout his performance in this leading role. He is quiet, but says so much with both his face and the few lines of dialogue he has.


Harrison Ford is very good at being a grumpy, disillusioned, old man. This meant he could not have been more suited to his character in this. Ford delivered exactly what was wanted of him, and he did so very well.


Ana de Armas gives what is, in my opinion, one of her best performances to date. She is so sincere and innocent, which suited her role perfectly, and juxtaposed that of Gosling's perfectly. She was wonderfully memorable and likable throughout.


Jared Leto is very good at playing weird, kind of crazy men who think they're God - and that made his casting near enough spot on for this role. He does as you would expect of him as such a character, which is to be dramatic, intense and mysterious. In this case, it works very well.


Sylvia Hoeks goes pretty under the radar in the film, thanks to the performances of her co-stars. But I actually think she deserves some credit too. I really enjoyed her gritty, worn-out character. While its not the most memorable performance of the film, its still a good one.


The film also sees some memorable, positive supporting performances from the likes of Robin Wright, Mackenzie Davis, Carla Juri, Lennie James, Edward James Olmos, Dave Bautista and David Dastmalchian.


Overall, this is a film that has only improved with age, in my view. Every time I rewatch it, I see something new that I like about it, and I come to appreciate everything Villeneuve does with what I nowadays consider to be one of the best legacy sequels around.


Comments


bottom of page