top of page

American Fiction (2023) Dir: Cord Jefferson

Instagram post:



I was not expecting to be able to watch this Cord Jefferson directed comedy drama before the academy awards, but thankfully it arrived on streaming in the nick of time. The film seemed to have some really solid ratings, which gave me plenty of hope for personal enjoyment.


The soft soundtrack was sombre, nostalgic and featured some enjoyable jazz and blues themes that ran throughout, and provided a relaxing undertone to the narrative. I found it both a peaceful and quietly engaging backdrop for an emotional story.


I loved the poignancy and irony of the story, and the way it reflected stereotypes and positive-discrimination in modern American society. The film uses its satirical base to point out the glaring ironies, forged through white guilt, among other factors. It was both relevant and deeply amusing.


The dry humour worked wonderfully to create some genuinely hilarious, laugh-out-loud scenes, as well as some moments that leave you exchanging knowing looks and letting out a little chuckle - it was very well done, I felt.


Elements of the story were a little predictable, but not necessarily in a negative way. What I think was especially positive, was the overriding sweetness of the story, it's what truly resonated with me most of all. The ending was maybe a little too satirical for my taste, but I still enjoyed it.


I found Jeffrey Wright and his protagonist very compelling. He had some marvellously acted scenes, particularly in those that required good comedic timing, which Wright excelled at. I think he was a master of body language, with it often saying a lot more than dialogue could have - it was a very effective performance.


Sterling K. Brown provided a very appreciable mix of humour and sincerity, which I found delightful. I think this was his most complete and varied performance, at least from what I've seen. I loved the way he portrayed his relationships with both Wright and Leslie Uggams.


The performances of both Issa Rae and Erika Alexander, though less substantial in terms of screentime, were delightfully performed. Rae had some wonderful facial expressions, while Alexander's soft energy permeated her scenes, and made her character extremely likable.


Other noteworthy performances from the supporting cast were provided by Tracee Ellis Ross, John Ortiz, Leslie Uggams, Myra Lucretia Taylor and Ryan Richard Doyle. I was particularly fond of Ellis Ross, despite her lack of screentime, because I felt a real sincerity in her character.




Overall, I loved the satirical nature of the story, and I loved the key performances of the cast. I thought that the film was both thought provoking and funny in duality, and provided me with two hours of true entertainment, in a low-key and gentle fashion.

Comments


bottom of page