top of page

Zootropolis (2016) Dir: Rich Moore & Byron Howard

Instagram post:



I'll admit, I was not expecting a whole lot from this - that's not to say I figured it would be bad, I just didn't see it being as good as it ended up being.


First and foremost, I was pleasantly surprised to notice that the film addresses social issues such as racism and classism, which for a corporation like Disney to show, could be construed as pandering, but on this occasion I'll give them the benefit of the doubt and call it sincere.



In fact, a huge amount of the narrative is heavily based on addressing these issues, in both an implicit and explicit manner. Co-directors Rich Moore & Byron Howard made sure that the messages from this film could not be missed - and during such a poignant time in the world's history, these kind of stories are especially vital.


I hardly even need to mention the film's animation, one thing Disney always nails is that. The film is beautifully colourful and flows with brilliant ease.



Ginnifer Goodwin is a very solid casting choice for the film's lead. She supplies the audience with some infectious energy and endearing determination that you can't help but love.


Jason Bateman comes across almost George Cloiney-esque - with his vocals and character having the cheeky, and witty substance that epitomises much of Clooney's late 90s and early 00s film's. His character is a rascal with a good heart, and Bateman plays him very well. One of my favourite performances by him by a long way.



Idris Elba has fast become one of my favourite actors, he is so consistently good in every film he appears in, and this is no different. He was very well suited to his role and delivers exactly what was needed, to no one's surprise.


Finally, I'll give credit to J.K. Simmons, Shakira and Nate Torrence, all of whom provide value to their characters and help to further the suspension of disbelief and add some extra character and entertainment to an already enjoyable cast and story.



Overall, this was a genuine gem of a film that has me wondering why it doesn't get talked about more often. I truly believe it is an underrated animation and deserves far more acclaim than it seems to have. If you haven't already, you should absolutely take the time to watch this.



Comments


bottom of page