top of page

Windfall (2022) Dir: Charlie McDowell

Instagram post:


This is one of those netflix films that I saw the trailer for and was immediately interested in. Visually it looked great and I loved the cast. Plus, it's only 92 minutes, so it is very much an easy to sit down and watch film.


The film has a contemporary feel, with clear influences from some of cinema's big hitters. It's a Tarantino-esque crime film, with sprinklings of Hitchcock thriller. It reminds me stylistically and aesthetically of The Hateful Eight, which is absolutely a compliment.


The soundtrack, composed by Danny Bensi and Saunder Jurriaans, is absolutely superb, and matches that Tarantino-like suspense stride for stride.


There are some really aesthetic and beautiful camera shots which were highly satisfying from a filmmaker's perspective. The film's premise is concise and neatly tied.


The cast is minimal, with the three main characters taking up almost every line of dialogue in the film. The narrative builds and builds with unrelenting patience and suspense until it reaches its shocking and harrowing conclusion.


Director Charlie McDowell engages you in outstanding fashion, making sure the mood of the piece ebs and flows masterfully with the story.


Jason Segel is one of those actors that I think people criminally underrate when it comes to his dramatic acting ability. This film is the perfect representation of just how good he can be. This is by far the best I've seen from him.


I've been a fan of Jesse Plemens since his work in Breaking Bad and El Camino. And honestly he shows just how good he can be here. The way his performance evolves here is magnificent.


Lily Collins starts off slow and, much like the film, builds in her performance, her development unravelling beautifully.


Since he is literally the only other cast member, I'll mention Omar Leyva too. He has a exponentially smaller role, but I found myself empathising with his character.


Overall, this one pulled me in with remarkable intent and am unexpected intensity. It leads you through this sloe burn narrative before hitting you with a truly shocking conclusion.


I genuinely was not prepared for how much I would love this film. It is right up my alley and I truly believe most, if not all, of you will enjoy it just as thoroughly.

Comentários


bottom of page