top of page

War For The Planet Of The Apes (2017) Dir: Matt Reeves

Instagram post:



As readers of my previous reviews for this franchise will know, I am a huge fan of the first two films, especially the second one. I had not, however, seen this third one. But, in preparation for this year's newest installment, I leapt at the opportunity to finally watch this Matt Reeves directed sequel.


The film's visuals, as you might expect from newer technology and the same talented director, are exemplary. There were some beautiful shots time and time again, thanks to the stunning framing and lighting, as well as the updated CGI for the motion capture characters.


This third film had some of the strongest character work yet, particularly surrounding the franchise's magnificent protagonist. Although, the writing of the supporting characters, especially the ape characters, has also been brilliant. It's refreshing to actually care about more than one or two characters in a film.


It also had some of the best writing I've seen for just about any war film. The themes and characterisation involved were incredibly poignant and emotional. I was expecting a far more typical war narrative, considering the name of the film and where the prior film left things, but I was thrilled to see the direction Reeves took the story.


Andy Serkis somehow managed to top his incredible performances in the two previous films, with what was, in my view, one of the greatest acting displays you will ever see on-screen. He was able to bring so much emotion, sincerity and depth to his character. It was truly a marvel to watch him perform.


Woody Harrelson gave one of his best ever performances, in my opinion. He was a phenomenal antagonist, and his acting was on-point throughout. I like Harrelson, but I've never considered him to be a great actor. This performance may have changed my mind somewhat.


As I said above, I was very pleased with the performances of the other motion capture actoes. Of the many involved, the three that stood out from the supporting cast were Steve Zahn, Karin Konoval and Terry Notary. Konoval and Notary both have been very consistent during their time in the franchise.


I also really enjoyed the performances of a number of supporting cast members, some of whom did motion capture; Amiah Miller, Michael Adamthwaite, Ty Olsson and Gabriel Chavarria. I was particularly impressed with Miller, who gave a very endearing and unique performance.


Overall, this was a phenomenal end to a very strong trilogy. I feel as though each film got better and better, culminating in this excellent, thrilling and emotional story that was superbly executed. I think the film is a real triumph, and if I wasn't already, the film got me incredibly excited for the fourth installment.



Comments


bottom of page