top of page

Tokyo Godfathers (2003) Dir: Satoshi Kon

Instagram post:


I don't watch a huge amount of animation these days, but when I do, I often find some real gems of cinema. And I have to say, this is one of them.


The animation style is not revolutionary, though I wouldn't say it particularly suffers as a result. It has a character to it which I quite enjoy. The film is pretty bizarre, but in a really fun and hilarious way.


It also has a very good and thought provoking underlying message about the treatment and profiling of the homeless community - something which is still relevant today, not just in Japan but the world generally.


This is honestly such an enjoyable film that I wish had more acclaim. If you have the opportunity, I highly recommend taking the time to watch this one

Comments


bottom of page