top of page

To All The Boys I've Loved Before (2018) Dir: Susan Johnson

Instagram post:


I must admit, I was not all that excited to watch this film. I expected it to be your standard, low effort, poorly acted teen romance with absolutely nothing to offer but boredom and apathy.


However, I was soon proved wrong. I actually found a lot to enjoy here. For starters, the story is functional and not overly cheesy - for the most part at least.


The soundtrack was great, it lifted the mood of the film and perked me up anytime I began to lose investment. What's more, the actors were all clearly having fun, which is always a good thing to notice.


Lana Condor was extremely likeable in the starring role and her comedic timing felt very natural.


Noah Centineo was a decent enough romantic interest, he had reasonably good chemistry with Condor.


Anna Cathcart and Janel Parrish provide an entertaining supporting cast, each having a couple of entertaining scenes.


Overall, this is not the kind of film I would, or will, watch regularly, but I genuinely did enjoy it. I'd even consider watching the sequel.

Comments


bottom of page