top of page

The Wailing (2016) Dir: Na Hong-Jin

Instagram post:

I had been recommended this South Korean horror a number of times over the last few years, so I was very keen to finally watch it. Written and directed by Na Hong-Jin, it immediately became clear that this was going to be a heavy film emotionally and thematically.

The story burns slow, but my word, it was so enthralling. I could barely take my eyes from the screen. The events of the film were harrowing. The horror was done phenomenally well, and left me speechless. There were some incredibly clever twists that tore at the character's and the audience's emotions.

The film weaves its way through a number of different subgenres of horror, and manages to keep the truth well-hidden until its dying moments. The final scenes of the film were executed superbly, and the culmination of the story was brutal in its impact and irony.


Something I really appreciated, was the understated but thoroughly beautiful cinematography. This, along with some very strong physical effects, made this film a treat visually, but quietly so. So much of what's on-screen is visceral, culturally rich and intelligently framed - it makes everything so delicious to absorb.

Kwak Do-won was phenomenal in the film's leading role. He was so believable, in just about every way. He even snuck in some little snippets of comedy that I loved. I was so impressed with his range of emotions and the sincerity of his delivery. The progression of his character throughout the film was so satisfying to see.


Hwan-hee Kim gives one of the best performances I've seen from a child actor in cinema, especially the horror genre. She so good, especially in the second half of the film.

Jun Kunimura was immensely intimidating and unnerving, especially in his first few scenes. He doesn't actually say or do much, but the way he does things is so brilliantly sinister.


Hwang Jung-min was a fascinating inclusion to the film. His character had a fair few intricacies to him that Hwang played up to nicely. He also showed an entrancing charisma that really draws the audience in to his persona. All-in-all, I think he played his role extremely well.

Chun Woo-hee has a small but very important role, and she plays it beautifully well. I thought she evoked so much mystery, and the subtlety of her performance proved so effective in its impact on the story. Though they do not play major parts, i also appreciated the performances of both Jang So-yeon and Jin Heo.


Overall, I thought this film was quite frankly terrifying. Na Hong-Jin created such a flowing, suspenseful and mysterious film, that audiences will be left utterly shocked, scared and devastated. This is, in my view, one of the best horror films of all time.


Commentaires


bottom of page