top of page

The Thursday Murder Club (2020) By Richard Osman


“In life you have to learn to count the good days. You have to tuck them in your pocket and carry them around with you.”


Prior to reading this, I was aware of two things in relation to this book. Firstly, that Richard Osman was the creator and co-presenter of 'Pointless'. Secondly, that his series of books, this being the first, had rapidly garnered acclaim from the world of literature.


“It’s great to be the fastest runner, but not when you’re running in the wrong direction.”


First and foremost, Osman creates a truly wonderful set of characters to fill his world and solve his mysteries. I have heard that much of his inspiration for the story, as well as the elderly characters, comes from his own mother and her retirement village - which I think is delightful.


″...getting out of a garden chair at our age is a military operation. Once you are in one, you can be in it for the day.”

Additionally, Osman's interlinking and smoothly intertwined story flows beautifully, and culminates with a satisfying and well-written end. There are enough red herrings to keep you guessing, without leaving the final reveals completely jarring. There can often be a tendancy to do too much with mysteries, but Osman manages to balance his plots and subplots with the ease of an experienced author.


“The daffodils will always come up by the lake, but you won’t always be there to see them. So it goes; enjoy them while you can.”


I found this to be an incredibly easy to read affair, which I gratefully consumed with ease and excitement. For the most part, I am a slow reader, but I raced through this, at least by my standards, such was my enjoyment of Osman's writing.


“Like any modern woman, I am any number of things, as and when the need arises. We have to be chameleons, don’t we?”


I could not help but read chapter after chapter, and no sooner had I finished 'The Thursday Murder Club' had I now started the sequel; 'The Man Who Died Twice', and with even more anticipation than before, I might add.


“Also, it was a well-known fact that there were no calories in homemade cakes.”


Comments


bottom of page